Certificate Programs

Certificate Programs

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, healthcare occupations are projected to add about 2.4 million new jobs by 2026 in the healthcare industry, adding more jobs than any of the other occupational groups.

In addition to integrating the knowledge and skills required by the certificate programs below into our academic degree programs, IHLSI provides preparation courses to help learners pass these certificate examinations. Furthermore, credit units earned here can be transferred to our Master's degree programs as foundational course waivers.

Dietetic Technician, Registered (DTR)

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics gives the Dietetic Technician, Registered (DTR) Exam, and its credentialing agency is the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR). The title of Registered Dietitian (RD) and Dietetic Technician, Registered (DTR) is protected and authorized by CDR of the American Dietetic Association.

The examination is based on various topics such as Food and Nutrition Sciences, Food Service Systems, Nutrition Care for individuals and groups, and Management of Food and Nutrition Services. The exam is to be taken within two and a half hours, and a simple calculator will be provided. More than 80,000 dietitians and dietetic technicians across the country and the world have taken CDR exams over the past several decades.

Certified Management Accountant (CMA)

The Certified Management Accountant (CMA®) is an authoritative identification for accounting and financial professionals, focusing on financial planning, performance and analysis, strategic management, etc. The applied expertise, skills and capabilities are consistent and widely recognized by corporate finance executives globally.

The CMA exam: 2 parts covering 12 competencies

Part 1: Financial Planning, Performance, and Analytics

15% External Financial Reporting Decisions

20% Planning, Budgeting, and Forecasting

20% Performance Management

15% Cost Management

15% Internal Controls

15% Technology and Analytics

Part 2: Strategic Financial Management 

20% Financial Statement Analysis

20% Corporate Finance

25% Decision Analysis

10% Risk Management

10% Investment Decisions

15% Professional Ethics

Parts 1 and 2 are offered during the following three testing windows:

January/February, May/June, September/October

People with a certified management accountant (CMA) certification can work in corporate financial accounting and strategic management. Professionals may choose the CMA pathway because it covers different topics than the certified public accountant (CPA) certification.

CompTIA A+ Technician

CompTIA A+ certification is earned by passing a set of two exams that validate skills needed for entry-level IT jobs. It is a performance-based certification that supports the ability to connect users to the data they need to do their jobs regardless of the devices being used.

CompTIA A+ technician is not just for PC repair. CompTIA A+ candidates are better prepared to troubleshoot and solve a wider variety of issues, ranging from networking and operating systems to mobile devices and security.

CompTIA A+ prepares candidates for the following job roles:

Service desk analyst                         Help desk tech

Technical support specialist         Field service technician

Associate network engineer         Data support technician

Desktop support administrator         End-user computing technician

Help desk technician                         System support specialist